State Legislation

Maine is a ballot initiative state.  On April 19, 2017, the initiative petition was approved for signature gathering.[3] Supporters of the measure needed to collect 61,123 valid signatures. Signatures are due before the 50th day of the first regular legislative session of 2018. The initiative is allowed to circulate through October 19, 2018, which means the measure is eligible for either the 2018 or 2019 ballot in Maine. 

On April 4, 2017 the Legislature accepted an Ought NOT to Pass vote on LD156.  This bill was defeated for the 2017 Session!

On March 23. 2017 the Committee on Veteran and Legal Affairs held a vote with recommendation ought not to pass.

On March 3, 2017 a work session was held with Public Testimony

On February 15, 2017 LD156 was referred to Committee on Veteran and Legal affairs.

In January 2017, Representatives Deane Rykerson, Seth Berry, Lydia Blume, Janice Cooper, and Stanley Zeigler and Senators Shenna Bellows, Geoffrey Gratwick, and David Miramant introduced the National Popular Vote bill (Status of LD156). 

On February 2, 2010, the Maine House defeated the National Popular Vote bill.

On January 7, 2009, Representative John L. Martin introduced the National Popular Vote bill (LD 56).  While a member of Maine's House of Representatives in 1969, John Martin sponsored Maine’s current law governing the awarding of electoral votes. Under this 1969 legislation, two of Maine's electoral votes are awarded by congressional district, and two are awarded on a statewide basis. In 1992, Nebraska adopted legislation patterned after Maine's 1969 law. 

On April 14, 2008, the Maine Senate passed the National Popular Vote bill (LD 744).

On March 30, 2007, Senator John L. Martin sponsored the National Popular Vote bill ( LD 1744 ).  

Main Menu