State Legislation

Help Defend Your Electoral College

January 2020,  SB399 is scheduled for action on the 14th of January.
With the introduction of this bill, that makes for a total of 3 active pieces of legislation in Virginia. 

In December 2019, two National Popular Vote bills were pre-filed in the Virginia House of Delegates (HB199, HB177).

On February 5th, 2019 the House Committee on Privileges and Elections determined to leave in committee HB 2422 thus effectively killing the bill.  Congratulations Virginia your vote has been protected!!

On January 8th, 2019 HB 2422 was introduced and referred to committee.  Check back for updates as the session progresses.

On February 1st, 2018 HB 99 received a recommended vote to lay it on the table by the House Elections Committee.  While this does not mean the Bill is officially dead for 2018 it means no further action will be taken unless a full vote of the House overrules. 

On January 22nd, 2018 HB 99 was referred to the House Elections Committee

On December 13, 2017 HB 99 was pre-filed in the House and is awaiting committee assignment.

On February 8, 2017 House Committee voted to "pass indefinitely" tabling the bill for the remainder of the 2017 Session.  This bill has been defeated for the 2017 Session!!!

In January 2017, Delegates Marcus B. Simon, Kaye Kory, Mark H. Levine, Kenneth R. Plum, and Marcia S. “Cia” Price and Senators Adam P. Ebbin, Janet D. Howell, and Scott. A. Surovell introduced the National Popular Vote bill (Status of HB1482). 

In January 14, 2009, Senator Senator Yvonne B. Miller introduced the National Popular Vote bill into the Virginia Senate for the 2009 session (SB 824).

Main Menu