State Legislation

Help Defend Your Electoral College

On August 4, 2010, Massachusetts governor Deval Patrick signed the signed the National Popular Vote bill, making Massachusetts the sixth state to enact the bill.

Governor Deval Patrick (seated) signs the National Popular Vote bill. From left to right, Senator Tom Kennedy, Representative Mike Moran, Rep. Bruce Ayers, Rep. Tom Stanley, Pam Wilmot (President of Common Cause Massachusetts), Senator Jamie Eldridge , Rep. Jay Kaufman (clapping), Massachusetts Legislative Counsel Gavi Wolf ACLU (back), Rep. Anthony Cabral (front), aide to Sen Kennedy (back), Common Cause board member Bill Schmidt, Massachusetts Sierra Club Director Jay McCaffrey Director, Common Cause board member Dick Terry. Photo courtesy of Holland Hinman/Governor's Office.

Main Menu