State Legislation

On February 28, 2017 the Minnesota House of Representatives adjourned the 2017 Session.  HF42 and HF44 have been defeated for 2017! The Minnesota Senate Session Continues

On January 5, 2017 SF10 and SF 16 were referred to State Government Finance Policy and Elections Committee.

On January 5, 2017 HF42 and HF44 were referred to Committee on Government Operations and Elections Policy.

In January 2017, Representatives John Lesch, Pat Garofalo, Paul Rosenthal, Connie Bernardy, Alice Hausman, Sheldon Johnson, Frank Hornstein, Mike Freiberg, Linda Slocum, Leon Lillie, Peter Fischer introduced the National Populalr Vote bill (Status of HF42). Rep. Leon Lillie also introduced the bill into the House (Status of HF44).

In January 2017, Senators Ann Rest,  David Dibble,and Charles Wiger introduced the National Populalr Vote bill (Status of SF16). Senator Charles Wiger also introduced the bill into the Senate (Status of SF10).

By Meghan B  April 24, 2017
I had a great day today! I went down to the St. Paul Capital, and I spoke to Daniels (C) and Jasinski (S) in person. I showed them the website of the NPVC, and explained that we are down to only 105 electoral need to pass the popular vote, and this could be end the of our constitution as we know it. They have both promised me, they will fight with everything they have to keep this off the ballot, and too spread awareness in our Minnesota Republican party.

Here is my talking point:
Please, please stop the National Popular Vote. Please make sure our state DOES NOT  add to the 11 states that have given away their rights to control the electoral delegates in choosing  the President. I do not agree with this. The reason for the electoral implementation, was to protect middle American from densely populated areas making decisions for American people that neither share their views, nor need or want the same ideals for their state.
This bill was not brought up since 2013, and after the election these following representatives RE-proposed the bill in 2017. You can see where this is going. Please protect my VOTE. Say NO to the popular vote. This will ruin our country.
Eleven States have passed the NPVC. With that they now have 165 Electoral Votes. They need 270 total to make the compact active. They only need 105 more for the Compact to become actionable.

I am fighting!!! I am not done. I need to meet with all the Reps from my state. We are Rep controlled right now, and we all need to make sure there are no RINO s hiding in sheep's clothing. Please help me in this effort. Anyone here from MN, and we can join forces. I have a meeting with the head of the Republican party for women here in MN next Wednesday. I will be bringing this issue up, and asking for help next month from the women's Republican group for southwest Minnesota.

On February 28, 2013, the Elections Committee of the Minnesota House of Representatives approved the National Popular Vote bill (HF799). The National Popular Vote bill is also contained in the Omnibus Election bill (HF894).

In February 2013, the National Popular Vote bill (HF799) was introduced in the Minnesota House of Representatives by Representatives Steve Simon, Pat Garofalo, John Persell, Carlos Mariani, Kurt Zellers, David Bly, Paul Rosenthal, Carolyn Laine, Tim Sanders, Frank Hornstein, Joe Atkins, and Zachary Dorholt.

In addition, in February 2013, the National Popular Vote bill (SF585) was introduced in the Minnesota Senate by Senators Ann H. Rest, Leroy A. Stumpf, Karin Housley, Branden Petersen, and Jeff Hayden.

On April 27, 2011, the Minnesota house Committee on Government Operations and Elections approved the National Popular Vote bill by a voice vote.

In February 2011, the National Popular Vote bill (HF 495 was introduced by Representatives Pat Garofalo, Michael L. Beard, Mary Liz Holberg, Erin Murphy, Tim Sanders, Dean Urdahl, Steve Simon, Denny McNamara, Kurt Zellers (Speaker), Frank Hornstein, John Benson, Phyllis Kahn, Jeff Hayden, Patti Fritz, Bev Scalze, John Lesch, Leon Lillie, and Diane Loeffler. The 18 sponsors include 7 Republicans and 11 Democrats. Senators Ray Vandeveer and Anne (R) and Ann H. Rest (D) introduced the bill (SF 1241) in the Senate in 2011.

On February 4, 2009, the National Popular Vote bill (HF 512   Status of HF 512) was introduced in Minnesota by Representatives Steve Simon, Bob Gunther, Denny McNamara, Kurt Zellers, Frank Hornstein, John Benson, Roger Reinert, Phyllis Kahn, Sandra Masin, Larry Hosch, Jeff Hayden, Jerry Newton, Laura Brod, Greg Davids, Patti Fritz, Cy Thao, Bev Scalze, Terry Morrow, John Lesch, Carol McFarlane, and Leon Lillie. The bill (SF 446   Status of SF 446) was introduced in the Minnesota Senate by Senators Ann H. Rest, Dick Day, Sandra L. Pappas, John Marty, and Pat Pariseau.

Main Menu