State Legislation

Help Defend Your Electoral College

On April 3rd, 2019 New Mexico Governor signed HB 55 entering NM into the NPVIC.  Sadly NM is the 15th State to hand over its vote to the NPV.

On March 12th, 2019 the New Mexico Senate passed the NPV legislation in the committee of the whole by a strict party line vote.  Now on to the Governor and sadly we must report New Mexico will join the National Popular Vote Compact and her voters will have lost their voice forever.

On March 10th, 2019 HB 55 received a do pass recommendation in the Senate Rules Committee and is now in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  The bill has to March 16th to pass on the floor of the House

On February 1st, 2019 HB 55 was passed on the House floor by a 41-27 part line vote and moved to the Senate where it is awaiting a committee hearing.

On January 25, 2019 HB 55 received a "do pass" recommendation along a strict party line vote in the House Judiciary Committee and is now waiting on a calendar date for the whole of the House.

On January 23rd, 2019 a "do pass" vote occurred with 6-3 in favor and the bill was moved to a House Judiciary Committee hearing on January 25th.

On January 16th, 2019 HB 55 was introduced and referred to committee. 

On February 20, 2017, the New Mexico Senate passed the National Popular Vote bill by a 26-16 margin (Status of SB 42).  News article. On March 7, 2017, the House state Government, Indian, and Veteran's Affairs Committee approved the bill on a 5-4 vote, but on March 9, 2017, the House Local Government, Elections, Land Grants and Cultural Affairs" Committee tied 3-3, thereby defeating the bill in New 3Mexico for the 2017 session.

On February 15, 2017, the Senate Judiciary Committee approved the National Popular Vote bill by a 7-4 vote (Status of SB42). 

On February 3, 2017, the Senate Rules Committee approved the National Popular Vote bill by a 6-2 vote (Status of SB42).

In January 2017, Senator Mimi Stewart introduced the National Popular Vote bill (Status of SB42), as did Senator Carlos R. Cisneros (Status of SB54), and Senator Cisco McSorley (Status of SB102).  

On February 20, 2009, the New Mexico House of Representatives passed the National Popular Vote bill.

On January 2012, the Citizen Panel on the Electoral College and the National Popular Vote Plan created by a resolution of the New Mexico House of Representatives released its final report. The report was authored by Prof. Lonna Rae Atkeson (Director for the Study of Voting, Elections, and Democracy), Kim Proctor, and Jim Noel. View Report

Main Menu