State Legislation

Help Defend Your Electoral College

On March 28, 2019 Delaware gave away its voice in the Presidential election when the governor signed SB 22 into law making Delaware the 14th State to join the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact.

On March 14th the Delaware House of Representatives voted 14-7 to pass SB 22 and the bill is now in the Governor's hands for signature.

House Administration Committee held a hearing on March 13th, 2019 on SB 22 and passed by the bill to the committee of the whole on a 3-0 voice vote on the merits.

On March 13th the Delware House Administration Committee voted a do pass recommendation for SB 22 and the bill will receive a floor vote on the 14th.  If passes Delaware will become the 15th state to join the NPVIC

On March 7th, 2019 SB 22 passed on the floor of the Senate by a 14-7 vote and was referred to House Administration Committee.

On February 27th, 2019 SB 22 was introduced and referred to committee.  Hearing scheduled for March 6th.

On June 7, 2011, the Delaware House of Representatives approved the National Popular Vote bill.  

In February, 2011, Representatives Dennis E. Williams, Melanie George, and John Kowalko and Senators Margaret Rose Henry, Michael Katz, and Karen Peterson introduced the National Popular Vote bill (HB 55) in Delaware.

On June 24, 2009, the Delaware House of Representatives passed the National Popular Vote bill (HB 198  Status of HB 198) by a 23-12 vote. The Delaware House is the 29th state legislative chamber in the country to pass the National Popular Vote bill. 

On June 4, 2009, Representatives Dennis E. Williams and Senator Michael S. Katz introduced the National Popular Vote bill, with additional sponsorship from Representatives E. Bradford Bennett, Gerald L. Brady, S. Quinton Johnson, and John A. Kowalko. 

On January 15, 2007, Delaware Senator Robert L. Venables announced that he was planning to introduce the National Popular Vote bill into Delaware Legislature for the 2007 session.

Main Menu